The High Commissioner

Major General Sohail Ahmad Khan
Hilal-e-lmtiaz (Military)
High Commissioner of Pakistan to Nigeria

Curriculum Vitae

Major General Sohail Ahmad Khan was commissioned in 18th Battalion (Desert Hawks) The Punjab Regiment in 1982. He is a graduate of Command and Staff College, Quetta and National Defence University, Islamabad. He also holds MSc (Hon) degree in War Studies from Quaid-e-Azam University, Islamabad and MSc Defence and Strategic Studies from the same institution.

During his career the General has held a number of Command, Staff and Instructional appointments. He has commanded 18th Battalion (Desert Hawks) The Punjab Regiment, two Infantry Brigades and an Infantry Division. His staff appointments include Brigade Major of two Infantry Brigades and Chief of Staff of a Corps.

He has been a Directing Staff at Command and Staff College Quetta. The General has also served as Defence Advisor at Pakistan High Commission, Pretoria, South Africa. He also served as Commandant Command and Staff College Quetta and Vice Military Secretary at General Headquarters Rawalpindi.

General retired on 24th April 2017 after spending almost 3 years as Director General of Airports Security Force Pakistan. A father of two daughters of which the elder one, a dentist by profession is married to an Army Officer and younger one is a graduate of physics from a reputable University in USA. The General has assumed the charge as High Commissioner of Islamic Republic of Pakistan to Nigeria since 12th January 2024.

List of High Commisioners
Sr. No.NameFromTo
1H.E. Khawaja Shahabuddin11 Sep. 196117 Jul. 1962
2H.E. M.S. Shaikh20 Jul. 196302 Oct. 1964
3H.E. Hakim Mohammad Ahson05 Nov. 196422 May. 1967
4H.E. Dr. Samiullah M. Koreshi12 Jun. 196922 Jul. 1972
5H.E. Syed Zafarul Islam08 Jan. 197311 Aug. 1976
6H.E. Mohiuddin Ahmad30 Oct. 197618 Feb. 1981
7H.E. Akram Zaki11 Feb. 198207 Aug. 1986
8H.E. S. M. A. Khairi14 Aug. 198601 Dec. 1988
9H.E. Shahid M. Amin02 Jul. 199020 May. 1993
10H.E. Mukarram Javed Sayed08 Nov. 199407 Nov. 1996
11H.E. Zafar Ali Hilaly11 Jan. 199808 Feb. 2001
12H.E. Ikram Karim Fazli12 Aug. 200108 Oct. 2005
13H.E. Khalid Durrani28 Nov. 200601 Aug. 2009
14H.E. Maj. Gen. (Retd.) Asif Duraiz Akhtar, HI(M)01 Dec. 200930 Nov. 2011
15H.E. Lt. Gen. (Retd.) Muhammad Ashraf Saleem, HI(M)11 Jan. 201310 Apr. 2015
16H.E. Lt. Gen. (Retd.) Agha Muhammad Umer Farooq, HI(M)24 May. 201523 May. 2017
17H.E. Maj. Gen. (Retd.) Waqar Ahmad Kingravi, HI(M)21 Jul. 201820 Oct. 2020
18H.E. Maj. Gen. (Retd.) Muhammad Tayyab Azam 26 Mar. 202124 Mar. 2023
19H.E. Major General (Retd.) Sohail Ahmad Khan12 Jan. 2024Present

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.